2012 Rebel Sprints Schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ambitious Schedule Set for URSS 2012 Season

By the URSS

OBERLIN KS (January 30, 2012) — The United Rebel Sprint Series has announced its upcoming schedule for the
2012 season, the seventh in series history.

A total of 38 races have been scheduled so far by series founder Rick Salem. That includes the, Beaver Co. Raceway
URSS Spring Nationals, the annual Wheatshocker Rebel Nationals at RPM Speedway in Hays in July and the Belleville
Nationals at the High Banks in Belleville — another two-day show.

This year also features the most two-day shows in series history, with most guaranteeing at least a $1,000 payout to
the winner.

“We've got the biggest series around the country, bigger than anyone else by far,” Salem said. “Last year, we had 89
registered cars, and this year we have a bunch of new cars in Colorado and Kansas.”

The season kicks off April 13 and 14 with the URSS Spring Nationals at Beaver County Raceway in Beaver, Okla. The
winner of Saturday's feature will take home $1,500.

The Rebels competed at Beaver several times in 2011, and each time the drivers put on an exciting show. Salem
expects more of the same to kickstart the season.

Another two-day show is tentatively scheduled May 26 to 27 at the Great American Dirt Track at Jetmore Motorplex,
giving the URSS six shows through the months of April and May.

The series hits the grindstone in June, with at least nine shows scheduled, and possibly more being added. June 1
kicks off the Colorado races at Phillips County Raceway in Holyoke, Colo., followed the next night at I-76 Speedway in
Fort Morgan, Colo.

The Kansas drivers also will be in action June 2 when they return to the Bullring known as Rush County Speedway in
La Crosse. That will be the first of four races at the quarter-mile track that has featured some of the wildest racing in
the past several years.

July is booked with at least 10 shows, highlighted by the annual Wheatshocker Rebel Nationals in Hays. That weekend
starts July 13 at WaKeeney Speedway, then heads down Interstate 70 a few miles to Hays for the Saturday and
Sunday finale to a tripleheader weekend. A $2,000 payout awaits Sunday night's winner.

August starts off with a bang at the second annual Belleville Nationals on Aug. 4 to 5. The winner of the second night
will take home $3,000 — the largest payout in URSS history. A year ago, Luke Cranston won both races on the
lightning-fast half-mile banked track.

New this year is a two-day show at the end of August. On the 24th and 25th of the month, Salem will introduce the
inaugural Bob Salem Memorial at Oberlin Speedway. Bob Salem, Rick's father, passed away last summer, and the two-
day show is in honor of his contributions to sprint car racing.

“He was well known in our town and in the racing community,” Salem said about his father. “And everybody really likes
that race track, say it's one of the nicest they race on all year long.”

Sept. 1 and 2 features a two-day show at the half-mile Elmwood Park Speedway in Norton, followed by a two-day
Bullring Nationals Sept. 15 and 16 at Rush County Speedway, with the winner of that feature pocketing a large payout.

The season wraps up Sept. 29 with a season championship race at Dodge City Raceway Park and includes a $10,000
purse for drivers.

Also new this season is a partnership with racinboys.com. A large portion of the URSS races will be broadcast online,
giving the series another feather in its cap. Dirtdogtv.com also will video broadcast some races during the season as
well.

For more information about the URSS, contact Rick Salem at (785) 475-7010, by email at rksalem@eaglecom.net or
visit www.unitedrebelsprintseries.com.

2012 URSS tentative schedule

April
Friday, April 13: Beaver County Raceway, Beaver, Okla., URSS Spring Nationals
Saturday, April 14: Beaver County Raceway, Beaver, Okla., URSS Spring Nationals

May
Sunday, May 20: Dawson County Raceway, Lexington, Neb.
Friday, May 25: RPM Speedway, Hays, Kan.
Saturday, May 26: Great American Dirt Track, Jetmore, Kan.
Sunday, May 27: Great American Dirt Track, Jetmore, Kan.

June
Friday, June 1: Phillips County Raceway, Holyoke, Colo.
Saturday, June 2: I-76 Speedway, Fort Morgon, Colo.
Saturday, June 2: Rush County Speedway, La Crosse, Kan.
Saturday, June 9: El Paso County Speedway, Calhan, Colo.
Saturday, June 9: Oberlin Speedway, Oberlin, Kan. (tentative)
Sunday, June 10: TBA
Friday, June 15: Diamond Mountain Speedway, Vernal, Utah
Saturday, June 16: Diamond Mountain Speedway, Vernal, Utah
Saturday, June 16: Dirtona Speedway, Hugoton, Kan.
Saturday, June 23: TBA
Sunday, June 24: TBA
Friday, June 29: Belleville High Banks, Belleville, Kan.
Saturday, June 30: TBA
Saturday, June 30: Thunder Ridge Motorsports Park, Craig, Colo.

July
Wednesday, July 4: El Paso County Speedway, Calhan, Colo.
Saturday, July 7: I-76 Speedway, Fort Morgan, Colo.
Sunday, July 8: TBA
Friday, July 13: WaKeeney Speedway, WaKeeney, Kan.
Saturday, July 14: RPM Speedway, Hays, Kan., Wheatshocker Rebel Nationals
Sunday, July 15: RPM Speedway, Hays, Kan., Wheatshocker Rebel Nationals
Saturday, July 21: El Paso County Speedway, Calhan, Colo.
Saturday, July 21: Lincoln County Speedway, North Platte, Neb.
Sunday, July 22: Dawson County Speedway, Lexington, Neb.
Friday, July 27: DCRP, Dodge City, Kan.
Saturday, July 28: Beaver County Raceway, Beaver, Okla.

August
Friday, Aug. 4: Belleville High Banks, Belleville, Kan., Belleville Nationals
Saturday, Aug. 5: Belleville High Banks, Belleville, Kan., Belleville Nationals
Sunday, Aug. 6: Rush County Speedway, La Crosse, Kan.
Saturday, Aug. 11: TBA
Sunday, Aug. 12: TBA
Saturday, Aug. 18: El Paso County Speedway, Calhan, Colo.
Saturday, Aug. 18: TBA
Sunday, Aug. 19: TBA
Friday, Aug. 24: Oberlin Speedway, Oberlin, Kan., Bob Salem Memorial
Saturday, Aug. 25: Oberlin Speedway, Oberlin, Kan., Bob Salem Memorial
Friday, Aug. 31: RPM Speedway, Hays, Kan.

September
Saturday, Sept. 1: Elmwood Park Speedway, Norton, Kan.
Sunday, Sept. 2: Elmwood Park Speedway, Norton, Kan.
Saturday, Sept. 15: Rush County Speedway, La Crosse, Kan., Bullring Nationals
Sunday, Sept. 16: Rush County Speedway, La Crose, Kan., Bullring Nationals
Saturday, Sept. 29: DCRP, Dodge City, Kan., Season championship
__________________
Photo  
  
Home
Next